Announcing the 2024 Quality Healthcare Kenyan Awards Nominees

Nairobi, March 20 2024: The Quality Healthcare Awards has announced nominees for the fifth edition scheduled for April 5, 2024 in Nairobi.

Over the past five years, the Quality Healthcare Awards has honoured and celebrated individuals, organisations, and health facilities in the health sector for their excellence and innovation in strengthening the health system.

Amidst the challenges that persist towards attaining the Sustainable Development Goals agenda and national health goals, some individuals and organisations continue to advance equitable access to quality, responsive and affordable healthcare through sacrifice, commitment, industry, and innovative solutions. Therefore, the need to be recognised, celebrated and encouraged has driven the awards initiative.

A brainchild of Zawadi Brand Solutions Limited (ZBS Ltd) and in partnership with the Ministry of Health, the Quality Healthcare Awards Programme takes a health system-strengthening approach to advance equitable access to quality healthcare and promote patient safety by recognising outstanding performance, promoting a culture of continuous quality improvement, advocating for strong partnerships between health providers and users, fostering innovation and the use of information technology to improve patient care, facilitating knowledge management and sharing of best practices.

For the past four editions, the programme has continued to change the narrative and highlight the impact of positive contributions to the health sector for scalability, replicability, and sustainability. The initiative has awarded 61 winners, celebrated 171 finalists, received more than 60,000 applications and votes, and worked with more than 40 partners, who have played a key role in advancing Public Private Partnerships towards promoting access to quality healthcare and creating a platform for collaboration.

Now marking the 5th edition, the awards will incorporate the inaugural Quality Healthcare Forum. The Forum accelerates the attainment of equitable access to quality healthcare through a high-level platform that brings together leaders and stakeholders in the health sector to champion quality health systems, accountability, responsiveness and innovation for improved outcomes and sustainable development. The forum takes an opportunity-driven approach, recognising the impact of resilient quality primary health care systems on UHC.

Online voting for the People’s Choice Awards is currently ongoing on the website here and will close on 28th March 2024.

The General Awards Nominees

  1. Award of Excellence in Improving Access to Primary Care Services
  2. Changamwe Sub-County
  3. Jomvu Model Health Centre
  4. Mwembe Tayari Dispensary
  5. Award of Excellence in Advancing Maternal, Newborn and Child Health
  6. Likoni Sub-County Hospital
  7. Mombasa County
  8. Mrima Maternity Hospital
  9. Award of Excellence in Addressing NCDs
  10. Likoni Sub-County Hospital
  11. Nivishe Foundation
  12. Tudor Sub-County Hospital
  13. Health Facility Innovation Project of the Year
  14. Consolata Hospital Nkubu
  15. Kidunguni Dispensary
  16. Ndilidau Dispensary - Taita Taveta County
  17. Young Innovators Award
  18. Kevin Otieno
  19. Health Professional Achievement Award
  20. Mwanasha Bwika
  21. Phyllys Kemunto
  22. Ruwaida Hussein Hadi
  23. Lifetime Achievement Award
  24. Dr. Monica Oguttu - Kisumu Medical and Education Trust (KMET)
  25. Use of Information Technology to Improve Patient Care
  26. Department of Health Mombasa
  27. Jomvu Model Health Centre
  28. Kenbright Insurance Brokers Limited
  29. Award of Media Excellence in Promoting Health and Well-Being
  30. Angela Oketch - Nation Media Group
  31. Dennis Chisaka - Health reporter KBC Radio
  32. Gardy Alphonce Chacha - Standard Group Plc
  33. Lilys Njeru - Nation Media Group
  34. Best Use of Social Media in Healthcare
  35. Bokole CDF Health Centre
  36. Gertrude's Children's Hospital
  37. Vitehealth Consult
  38. Excellence in Improving Access to Medical Products, Vaccines and Technologies
  39. Likoni Sub-County
  40. Mvita Sub-County
  41. Tudor Sub-County Hospital
  42. Healthcare Financing Innovation Award
  43. Kenbright Insurance Brokers Limited
  44. Likoni Sub-County Hospital
  45. Tudor Sub-County Hospital
  46. Healthcare Leadership Award
  47. Dr. Irungu Kangata
  48. Dr. Kajira Mugambi
  49. Gabriele Biacco
  50. Phyllys Kemunto
  51. Gender Diversity in Healthcare Leadership Award
  52. PCEA Kikuyu Hospital
  53. Ruaraka Uhai Neema Hospital
  54. County with the Best-Managed Healthcare
  55. Tharaka Nithi County
  56. County Innovation Project of the Year
  57. Mombasa County
  58. Tharaka Nithi County
  59. Award of Excellence in Advancing Environmental Sustainability in Healthcare
  60. AAR Healthcare Kenya Limited
  61. Likoni Sub-County Hospital
  62. Mbungoni Health Centre

The People’s Choice Awards Nominees

18. Primary Care Provider of the Year

  • Beacon of Hope
  • Coast General Teaching and Referral Hospital -Vikwatani Outreach Centre
  • Diani Beach Hospital-Shika Adabu
  • Jacaranda Maternity Hospital-Wallet Centre
  • Makindu Sub County Hospital
  • Matiliku Sub County Hospital
  • Mlaleo CDF Health Centre
  • Nasio Trust-George Mudenyo Kadima Medical Centre
  • Nziu Health Centre
  • Ruaraka Uhai Neema Hospital
  • Tudor Sub County Hospital

19. Secondary Care Provider of the Year

  • AAR Hospital Muthaiga
  • Avenue Hospital
  • Consolata Hospital Nkubu
  • Diani Beach Hospital
  • Meru Teaching and Referral Hospital
  • Muran'ga Level 5 Hospital
  • PCEA Chogoria Hospital
  • RFH Specialist Hospital
  • ST. Theresa Mission Hospital Kiirua
  • Tenwek Hospital

20. Tertiary Care Provider of the Year

  • Aga Khan University Hospital Nairobi
  • Karen Hospital
  • Kenyatta National Hospital - KNH
  • Kenyatta National Hospital - Othaya
  • Kenyatta University Teaching Referral and Research Hospital
  • Mater Hospital
  • Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital
  • MP Shah Hospital
  • Nairobi Hospital
  • Nairobi West Hospital

This year, the initiative has been supported by various partners, including the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), Kenya Healthcare Federation (KHF), Strathmore Business School, Safecare, the Patient Voice Initiative and Zawadi Brand Solutions (ZBS).

Notes to Editors

Quality Healthcare Awards

Quality Healthcare Awards celebrates and lauds organisations and individuals for their outstanding contributions to the health sector, cultivating a culture of excellence and innovation.

The Quality Healthcare Awards are an initiative of ZBS Ltd, a social enterprise dedicated to advancing health in the region by developing and implementing highly innovative and responsive interventions that improve the functions of the health system for enhanced health outcomes.

For more information, please contact:; +254731060164